Library Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of the Somers Public Library consists of nine members, elected for a period of six years at each biennial election. Regular meetings are held on the first Monday of each month, except July and August, at 6:30 p.m. in the Library Board Room. The library trustees are responsible for:

  1. Determining and adopting written policies to govern the operation of the library
  2. Reviewing and approving director’s annual budget recommendations and presenting the information to the Finance Board
  3. Assigning wages to library staff per recommendations received from the director
  4. Overall supervision of library functions working closely with the director

The Town of Somers Library Board Liaison is Joanne Nichting.  Ms. Nichting may be contacted by telephone at 860.763.3501 or by email

Library Directors Elected – 9 Members/6 Year Terms

Name Term Expires
Lisa Gladysz, Secretary November 2025
Marybeth Marquardt, Treasurer November 2029
Michael Gruber November 2027
Catherine Embriano November 2025
Ann Levesque November 2027
Andrew Phillips, Board Chair November 2025
Jack Kertenis November 2027
Robert Socha November 2029
John Kelleher November 2029

Agendas, Minutes and Meeting Schedules